5 Simple Steps to Reclaiming the Vision You Lost

Are you ignoring the call of God in your life? Have you abandoned the vision that He gave you?

Humain "I" in Closeup

Two Sundays ago, our pastor spoke about the importance of vision and how, like Nehemiah rebuilding the wall, we must refuse to be distracted from it (Nehemiah 6:1-4). My thoughts instantly came to this blog and I felt ashamed at how easily I had been distracted from it. But then he reminded us that, if we had lost sight of our vision, we could always come back to it. So that is what I’m doing.

It’s been two months since I posted my last blog post. I confess I lost sight of the vision God has given me. I gave the devil a foothold and let him distract me from my calling. It’s kind of ironic that my last post was about countering the enemies lies, huh?

Well, for whatever poor excuses I found to abandon you, I pray you will forgive me. It’s time for me to come back to my vision and I could use all the support I can get so I am reaching out to you, my community, to help me get back on track.

I also hope that this lesson I have learnt will help you to reclaim your own vision if you’ve lost it.  So let me share with you what God has been teaching me over the last little while: that we can reclaim our lost visions in five simple steps.

Step One: Ask God where you went wrong

Ask the Holy Spirit to reveal to you why you lost sight of your vision. Ask Him to illuminate any areas of your life where you may have let Satan and his demons in so that they could distract you from the vision God has given you. Ask Him to show you any sin in your life which may be holding you back from fulfilling your vision.

Step Two: Confess your sin to God

If nothing else, you will have been disobedient to God by ignoring or abandoning your calling. Let God know that you recognise this as sinful and that you are truly sorry for what you have done.

Step Three: Ask for support

Ask God to help you to repent of your sin so that you can carry on with the work He has given you to do. Ask Him to surround you with people who will build you up and give wise counsel. If you already know of people like this in your life, ask them to pray for you and keep you accountable.

Step Four: Take it one step at a time

When God called Abraham out of Harran to go to the land of Canaan (Genesis 12), he didn’t just teleport him there. Abraham had to take on a long journey with many obstacles on the way. It was the same with Moses and the Israelites.

Looking at the biblical accounts, we can see that it’s not just about fulfilling the vision which God gave us but also about the journey we go through along the way. It’s during this part that we grow and are transformed.

It’s important for us not to underestimate the journey and the obstacles which may arise. We must prepare ourselves for these obstacles, building up our strength and perseverance one day at a time. That way we will be ready for whatever lies ahead.

Step Five: Continue to look up

Pastor Andrew followed up his sermon on vision with one about making the right decisions along your journey towards fulfilling the vision. He told of the story in Genesis 13 when Lot and Abraham had to separate because their possessions were too many for the land. He compared the way Lot looked out at the land to see what looked good (vv.10-11) with the way that Abraham called upon the name of the Lord and sought His guidance (v.4). One got into a lot of trouble (Genesis 19) and the other was blessed (Genesis 12:2-3).

If you’re going to successfully complete your journey and fulfil your vision, you can’t do it alone. You need to be constantly seeking God because his ways are higher than your ways.

For me, implementing this process is going to look like me aiming to get at least one blog post written each week until I can build up to the five per week I would like to complete.

Question: What are you going to do this week to refix your eyes on the vision that God has given you?

photo credit: Human “I” in Closeup via photopin (license)

Leave a comment