Following God’s Lead: Why I started this blog

Follow God’s lead. He will never direct you wrong. ~ Anonymous

Towards the beginning of last year, I begged God to call me out of my corporate job for something greater. Soon after, I was visiting Rotorua Elim and heard a sermon by Pastor Josh Robbins.

He told the story of Elisha and how he had performed more miracles mentioned in the Bible than anyone (with the exception of Jesus, of course). Then, he reminded us of Elisha’s humble beginnings: ploughing with oxen (1 Kings 19:19).

On the slide behind him he had a picture of an ox’s backside. He said something along the lines of this: “Sometimes we have a season of life where we find ourselves looking at ox butts. It’s not a pretty job and we don’t love it but we must faithfully do it until God calls us out.”

God’s message was loud and clear that day: It’s not time yet. Be faithful in your current work and I will call you when it’s time.

God’s call for me

A few months later, the time came. It took a great deal of trust in God to leave the security of my job for the yet-to-be-revealed plan He had for me. I didn’t respond to His call quite the way I should have but that’s a story for another day.

On 2 July 2014, I left the office for the last time, eager to find out where I was going next. Much to my dismay, it was into a battle with sickness.

My health crisis inspires a blog

After many a Bible study on spiritual gifts and God’s call in the weeks following my last day, it became clear my destination was ministry. However, first I had to reclaim my health. I was ineffective in my current state.

After diagnosing myself with Candidiasis and realising that it was commonly suffered but uncommonly recognised by doctors, I was inspired to start a blog about my health journey. I wanted to spread awareness of the sickness and help others journey through it.

I had no idea how to write a blog or even commit to one so, after two posts, it was over.

A flame rekindled

After deciding to get a feel for ministry by interning for my home church this year, my husband and I discussed options for me to earn some money on the side.

I tried some avenues but found that they weren’t aligned with where God was leading me. I was sure of two things:

  • My part time work had to support my internship in ministry
  • It couldn’t take time away from the things I found more important than making money

Then I discovered stories from bloggers who had turned their passion into a career. I realised that, with a blog, I could have flexible hours and it could support my work in ministry.

Enter doubts

I’m not entrepreneurial enough to make money off a blog. I don’t have enough time to study, work and look after my health and relationships. Why would anyone want to hear what I have to say?

So many doubts plagued my mind. But then all the resources and motivation I needed fell into my hands and I knew God was behind this. Those weren’t just doubts, they were lies from Satan.

With a new and brilliant hope, I started this project, knowing that I could not fail as long as I put all my trust in God. He had given me a message to share and I couldn’t deny His call.

Holding onto hope

Remember, sisters, that God can do infinitely more than we could ever imagine (Ephesians 3:20). If God has placed a dream in your heart, follow it. For if God is for us, who can be against us? (Romans 8:31)

So what is your dream? Are you going to take hold of the hope you have in God and pursue it?

Let us know by commenting below so that we can support you and be praying for you.

Leave a comment